Skip to content
1-386-937-6043 — april@iserdefense.com

How Do I Apply for My Florida Concealed Weapon Permit in Putnam County?

You’ve taken the Florida concealed carry class, and you’re ready to apply for your Florida Concealed Weapon Permit, but where do you go to apply?

Apply for your Florida Concealed Weapon Permit in Person:

Many local Tax Collector’s Offices across Florida have partnered with the Florida Dept. of Agriculture to offer a one-stop process for applying for your Florida Concealed Weapon Permit:

Make an Appointment:
  • Call the Putnam County Tax Collector’s Office at (386) 329-0282, and press 0 at the prompt.
    The Palatka office offers appointments Monday- Friday, from 8:30 to 4:15; plan for approximately 45 minutes for the application process.
    • Walk-ins- Walk-ins are welcome; however, allow for a longer wait time as you are worked into the schedule.
      • Try not to arrive between 11:30 am and 2 pm as there are often longer wait times.
Bring with you:
  • A state-issued Driver’s License, or a state-issued Identification Card.
  • A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms that you are proficient with a firearm.
    • Military Members:
      • Active – Military Identification Card, Current Military Orders or Common Access Card
      • Honorably Discharged Veterans – DD214
  • A marriage Certificate, divorce decree, court documentation or other proof of name, if training is in a maiden or other name.
  • If you have ever been arrested, bring certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you
  • If you were born outside the United States, or if you are a permanent legal resident alien, you must bring official documentation confirming your citizenship status
  • Payment
Application Process:
  • Once you arrive at the Tax Collector’s Office for your appointment
    • You will be directed to a computer station where you will complete an online application form.
      You do not need to complete a form prior to your appointment.
    • A staff member will take your photograph
    • A staff member will scan your electronic fingerprints
    • You will be asked to swear and affirm that you have been furnished with a copy of Chapter 790, Florida Statutes (F.S.), and that you are knowledgeable of its provisions
Fees:
  • For Florida and out of state residents- $119 (Total)
      • Break down of fees:
        • License fee-$55
        • Fingerprinting fee- $42
        • Tax Collector’s fee-$22

Apply for your Florida Concealed Weapon Permit By Mail:

  • Download the Application Instructions
  • Download a Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Application
  • Visit the local Sheriff’s Office:

    130 Orie Griffin Rd
    Palatka, Putnam County, Fl
    • Here you will complete a legible set of fingerprints on the fingerprint card enclosed in your application, or have your fingerprints scanned and submit photocopies of your fingerprint scan and all receipts.
  • Have a passport photograph taken and printed
What to include with your application:
  • Photocopies of your fingerprint scan and all receipts
  • A photograph
  • A copy of your training document
  • Check or money order for $55
Mail to:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687

*Be sure to submit your application within 90 days of your fingerprint scan.

Apply for your Florida Concealed Weapon License Online:

  • Due to Coronavirus (COVID-19) precautions, you will not be able to apply online for a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License.
  • This policy begins on Monday, March 23, 2020 and will continue until further notice.
  • You may download, complete, and mail a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm license paper application.
Florida Concealed Carry Class
Iser Defense- Florida Concealed Carry Class

Still need to take the Florida Concealed Carry Class? Click here

Leave a Comment





Scroll To Top