Skip to content
1-386-937-6043 — april@iserdefense.com

Florida Concealed Weapon License FAQ

What if I’m an out of state resident?

Out of state residents can hold a Florida Concealed Weapon License. Out of state residents must be fingerprinted for both their original Florida Concealed Weapon License and to renew their permit.

Do I have to be a U.S. resident to apply?

Unless you are serving overseas in the United States Armed Forces, you must currently reside in the United States and be a U.S. citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service. Those who are Resident Aliens must provide a valid Permanent Resident Alien card.

  • If you are serving overseas in the U.S. Armed Forces, submit a copy of your deployment documentation with your application.

What if my name has changed?

Name chances must be requested in writing and submitted with proof of the name change such as a Marriage Certificate as well as a payment of $15. These can be mailed directly to the Division of Licensing:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687

  • The licensee may wait until renewal time to change the name.

What if my address has changed?

Address changes must be requested in a notarized written statement along with a payment of $15. These can be mailed directly to the Division of Licensing:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
PO Box 6387
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6387

  • Florida Statutes requires the Division of Licensing to be notified within 30 days of address change.

What if my Florida Concealed Weapon License has expired?

Florida Concealed Weapons Permits that have been expired for less than 6 months are processed as a renewal with an additional $15 late fee.

Permits that have been expired for longer than 6 months are processed as an original permit application.

How do I get a replacement Florida Concealed Weapon License?

To get a replacement Florida Concealed Carry permit, submit a notarized written statement explaining that the license/permit is lost, stolen or destroyed.
OR
Submit a written request and copy of the legal document evidencing the name change.

Include a payment of $15

These can be mailed directly to the Division of Licensing:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
PO Box 6387
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6387

How do I renew my Florida Concealed Weapon License?

Renewals may be processed up to 180 days prior to expiration. Approximately 95 days prior to the expiration date of your license, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) will send you a renewal form with complete instructions on how to renew your license.

You can renew your concealed weapon license:

  • In person – Visit an FDACS regional office or an authorized Florida tax collector’s office in your area.
  • By mail – complete a renewal form and mail it to:

    Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Renewal
    Division of Licensing
    PO Box 6387
    Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6387
  • Online – To apply online, visit the Florida Department of Agriculture to fill out the renewal form.

What would make me ineligible for a Florida Concealed Weapon License?

  • The physical inability to handle a firearm safely.
  • A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
  • Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
  • A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
  • A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
  • A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
  • Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
  • Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
  • Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
  • Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force.
  • Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
  • A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
  • Being a fugitive from justice.

Ready to sign up for a Florida Concealed Carry Class?

Sign up HERE

Florida Concealed Carry Class

2 Comments

  1. BONNIE SCHUMACHER on June 28, 2020 at 2:59 pm

    Where are the classes? What city in Florida?

    • April Iser on June 30, 2020 at 12:35 am

      Hi Bonnie,
      We are located in East Palatka, in NE Florida.

Leave a Comment





Scroll To Top